News

Global Education Conference 2013

November, 19 2013

Join us again this year in the fourth annual Global Education Conference, a free week-long online event bringing together educators and innovators from around the world, to be held Monday, November 18 through Friday, November 22, 2013 (Saturday, November 23rd in some time zones). iEARN-USA is again a supporting partner of the Global Education Conference.

Here is a beginners guide to getting started in the Global Education Conference.

iEARN Presentations- Click on the title link to go the presentation room.

Monday, Nov. 18

2PM EST (19:00 GMT)

Making International Education for Everyone - David Potter. A session on the importance of giving all young people the opportunity to have a meaningful cross-cultural experience as part of their education.

3PM EST (20:00 GMT) 

My Hero Learning Circles and Call to Action- Wendy Millet and Wendy Jewel. Join the MY HERO Global community through the MY HERO Learning Circles and create your own Call To Action in your community.

8PM EST (Nov. 19, 1:00  GMT)

IIME develops 21st century skills through international collaborative learning - Atsuko Shiwaka21st century skills of the students are rising through an international collaborative learning project called International Intercultural Mural Exchange (IIME).

Lessons for All: the right of education and barriers worldwide - Donna Roman. Lesson for All focuses on the right of education and the barriers that youth around the world experience.

Tues., Nov. 19

6AM EST (11:00 GMT)

My Identity, Your Identity Culture Project: Global Online Collaboration in Action - Nicolle Boujaber-DiederichsHuri Cinar, Said Belgra, Asma Albriki, Budi Setlawati.The presentation/discussion "My Identity, Your Identity Culture Project: Global Online Collaboration in Action" will focus on the structure, content and benefits of the iEARN online web forum project--My Identity, Your Identitywhere students and teachers connect to learn about one another’s cultures.

10AM EST (15:00 GMT) 

Able-bodied Individual's Perceptions of People with Disabilities- Dr. Jamal Din Slimani. This presentation will be about "normal" people's perceptions and misperceptions of individual who have disabilities.

One Gesture At A Time: Knowledge and Action Hand in HandSpringside Chestnut Hill Academy students. In this workshop, middle school girls will describe their daily efforts before school and at lunch/recess, to care for four hens and one chick as part of their micro-financing efforts take action in the world against hunger and poverty.

5PM EST (22:00 GMT)

Proyecto "Celebraciones en la Red" - Cristina Velazquez. "Celebraciones en la Red" es un proyecto telecolaborativo internacional, de la Red TELAR-iEARN que busca revalorizar las celebraciones en el mundo.

Wedn., Nov. 20

7AM EST (12:00 GMT)

Join Radijojo World Children's Media Network: Award winning global competency empowerment for your students- Thomas Rohlinger.  How to participate in one of the world's best (and non-commercial!) global learning media networks.

8AM EST (13:00 GMT)

Photojournalism 2.0 and 2.014 Engaging Educators in Bangladesh, Pakistan, Tajikistan and the United States - Nicole Weitzner. Farah KamalFiruz Baratov.  Join us and learn about iEARN’s unique and exciting Photojournalism 2.0: Images of Social Change program and how you can participate in this year’s Photojournalism 2.014: Heritage, Hunger, and Food Security program.



9AM EST (14:00 GMT)

Video Blogging as a Resource for Language Learning Enhancement - Curtis Young, This session focuses on students and teachers around the world who are using video blogs to enhance their language learning experience and cultural competency. 

11AM EST (16:00 GMT)

Internationalization of learning in experiences in collaborative project "Our Rivers, Our World"- Rajib Lochan Das. The session will highlight on how the secondary and higher secondary level students can learn in an internationalized approach to become competent for the 21st century.

5PM EST (22:00 GMT)

Passport to the World - Susie Oh. Students learn about different people and places from around the world and share a digital story about their travel journey.

7PM EST (0:00 Thursday Nov. 21 GMT)

Margaret Riel - Improve your Skills as a Global Educator through Action Researcher

Thurs, Nov. 21

6AM EST (11:00 GMT)

Use of Media Arts and Performing Arts for Cross Cultural Understanding - Alema Nasim. This session will introduce O3: Our Family, Our Neighborhood, Our World project among educators and students from India and Pakistan to learn use of media arts and creative arts as a tools for cross-cultural understanding and collaboration in their classrooms and taking action in their communities for social change.

7AM EST (12:00 GMT)

The Impact of Physical Exchanges on West African StudentsAqeela Jogee Cutter, Francois Donfack, Leroy Beldeh, and Jane Peters. The impact physical exchanges have on students from West Africa.

8AM EST (13:00 GMT)

Connecting Classrooms in the U.S., Middle East, and North Africa through Online Projects - Jennifer Russell. his session will share examples, best practices, and advice for connecting classrooms in the U.S. and MENA region to start online, collaborative projects.

10AM EST (15:00 GMT)

iEARN Local History Project as a tool to develop the 21st Century Skills and enhange cross-cultural dialogue - Rimma Zhukova, Patty Wu, Hiba Kheirbik. This session is about the iEARN Local History project and its activiites enhance our students key competencies.

1PM EST (18:00 GMT)

In Our Global VillageBarbara Cervone. In this session, participants will learn about a remarkable program which has connect young people in four continents who gather and publish their own local stories and images so that the world can learn from them.

2PM EST (19:00 GMT) 

Student Driven Environmental Projects - Kathy Bosiak and students. This session will share several project based, global, environmental projects and how they can be incorporated into new state standards.

3PM EST (20:00 GMT)

International School Award-Tariq Refaat Bahi Eldin. It will be about turning the teaching process into learning process through different styles like learning through projects or learning through using different tasks by using different tools of media.

5PM EST (22:00 GMT)
 
Daffodil and Tulips Project and Talking Kites on the Footsteps of J. Korczak - Ruty Hotzen. Students in different parts of the world plant bulbs together and collect data on various parameters (latitude, longitude, sunlight, temperature etc.) and track when they blossom. Talking Kites is a tradition of flying kites with personal and group images of our dreams for a better world.
 
Building Upon Your Physical Exchange Experience - Bethany KreiderThe impact of physical exchange (study abroad) on U.S. students and how to build upon your time abroad after returning to your home country.
 

Introducing Global Peerspectives on Disability in the Classroom - Ashley Bryant.  Teachers with all levels of understanding or experience with disability issues or working with students with disabilities

Fri., Nov. 22

7AM EST (12:00 GMT)

Global Project Based Learning and 21st Century Skills are dialectically connected - Samah AlJundiHiba Kheirbeik & Yousef Alhayek.  Project Based Learning and 21 century skills are dialectically connected.

9AM (14:00 GMT)

Using Online Resources for Teaching EFL to Students from Underserved Communities - Muhammad Saleem Ibrahim.  will share my experience of using specially developed online resources for teaching English to students from under-served and underprivileged communities enrolled in a U.S. Government funded project called English Access Microscholarship Program.